Hello, my name is Jennifer, and I’m a book addict…

The other night, after I had tucked in the little girls and kissed Mitzi, who was already cuddled up under her covers, immersed in her reading, I found Cooper on his bedroom floor. Before him was spread out a few books and he had a thoughtful look on his face. I asked him what he was doing. “Trying to figure out what I want to read tonight,” he answered.

These were not new books — he’s been reading them in turn for about a week. But Cooper doesn’t always read the same book day after day — he jumps from one to the next, depending on his mood. And it doesn’t bother him, and he easily follows the characters even if he hasn’t seen them for a few days.

He’s a snackish kind of reader. 

I’ve given up trying to understand or change his ways. But I don’t get it. Because I’m a exactly the opposite. No nibbling on books for me, no tasting them here or there. Nope. When I read, I binge.

If a book catches me on page one, I will do anything I can to read until it’s done, even if it means walking around the house with it clutched in my hands as I load the dishwasher or gather up dirty clothes for the wash. I stay up way too late, desperate to finish, because, if a book is that good I just can’t stand to go to sleep without knowing what happens.

Of course, I can’t do this all the time, and it takes every ounce of my adult sensibility to put the book down and get on with my day. But while I do all the things I have to, I steal glances at it when I walk through the room, and sometimes even pick it up to read another page or two. Just for a minute.

I was thinking about this today as I added another title to my library list. When will I be able to read all of these, and still do all the stuff I’m supposed to?

Too many books, too little time…

What kind of reader are you?

5 thoughts on “Hello, my name is Jennifer, and I’m a book addict…

  1. oooh, i am a sit down, read it till the end kind of reader. now that i’m retired i have more time to read but have to pace myself or i wouldn’t be able to do anything else. sometimes i sit down and read and then realize, hey dinner needs to be made. or at night, after dinner, i’m reading and look up and say, hey hon…you’re home already? i usually stop reading by 10 because my eyes get too tired and i’m way too old to stay up til 3 in the morning….i’m more likely to get up at 5 to finish that book. the only change i have made in my reading habits is to use the library more, or download books to kindle if i’m going to be on a vacation…i do miss buying books but the clutter….you are right, so many books, so little time…….xo

    • Like mother like daughter!
      Maeve and I are just like the Clark women — read at all times unless absolutely necessary. Maeve considers homework a pesky little nuisance (too easy, too boring). I consider household chores irritating botherations (my husband will do them if I don’t). Maeve does eventally get all her schoolwork done. I, on the other hand, end up with an exasperated husband which mitigates the satisfaction of a good book read.
      If this is the worst think in our lives, so be it — read on ladies!!! 😉

  2. I’m a s-l-o-w reader. There are so many books I would read if I were faster. I am awed by the bloggers who seem to review a book-a-day. And these are YA books, not PB.
    And to add to my handicap- I like to re-read favorites.
    The book pile in the corner just gets taller.

  3. How fascinating that your son is such a different reader than you! I’m like you, struggling to put books down, stealing covert glances as I continue with my day. But my hubby is more like your son… he’s an infrequent reader, but he can pick up a book he started months ago and still remember the plot and characters. Really intriguing how stories work in all these different minds.

  4. Like father like daughter. 1 book at a time. Cover to cover.

    Perhaps you should get books on tape and use aIPAD or whatever to listen to them while your doing your housework,

    Read “JOBS” by Issacson. Wonderful story about SJ and Apple and the computer industry.

Leave a Reply

