Ode to the PB&J

We’re at that side of the food cycle — little is left in the refrigerator, grocery shopping day is next week.  Luckily, the kids love peanut butter and jelly sandwiches.   I can see them as a prominent menu item for the next few days.

I’ve noticed, though, that lots of folks seem sorta against the old PB&J.  Allergies aside, why?  Okay, there can be a lot of sugar in the sandwich, sure, but choose the right brands and it’s natural sugar.   We buy all-fruit instead of regular jelly, whole wheat bread instead of white (my kids rarely get white, so when they do it’s like a party, bread ball-rolling and all).  It seems like a pretty healthy thing to eat.  I mean, it’s not bologna.

I just read a blurb on another blog by someone whose company has organic, all-natural food choices (via recipes or an actual store) for parents who are sick of “feeding their kids the usual mac & cheese, PB&J, and hot dogs”.  But it was phrased in a way that made those things somehow, I don’t know, poisonous, and parents who chose those items deserved a visit from the department of social services.  Um.  My aunt makes an awesome mac & cheese, and while I’m sure that the fat content isn’t the lowest in the world, it’s not bad-for-you food.  Turkey dogs are also a quick, healthy meal.

I’m getting very tired of people who think they know better than I do what to feed my kids. 

Okay, we all know that kids should be eating a grilled chicken salad with a balsamic vinaigrette on the side every day for lunch.   And dinner.  Low fat, high fiber, organic ingredients.  But some of us live in the real world where sometimes a budget doesn’t allow for the best food choices.   I’m glad my kids will eat grilled salmon, wild rice and salad — I just can’t always afford to serve it to a family of six.

And a PB&J  is just the thing during those times.   To the food nazis, well, stop picking on the most popular sandwich in the world, and pull up a chair.

If you’re good I’ll give you some blue corn tortilla chips.  ‘Cause I’m that kind of mom.

Leave a Reply

