Birthday

Today is my birthday.  We all have the Halloween hangover, but I’m used to that emotion on my birthday day.  Growing up, my sister Michelle, with the October 31 birthday, got the trick or treating, I got the day after.  Imagine my shock when Ray had the same Halloween birthday.  Forever, this was my destiny.  The “day after” celebration.

I am used to it.  In fact, I’ve come to accept, even embrace, my reticent personality, and the birthday mood as a reflection of that.  The day after suits me, the low-key, hanging out , sleepy November afternoon sort of day.  Naps and books and quiet time.  That’s what I got today; that’s what I like.

There was merriment at dinner with Ray, the kids, Michelle and our good friend Dori, who I don’t visit with nearly enough (mostly due to my own laziness).  We had excellent grilled steak, good wine, lots of laughs and much indulgence by the Aunties of my kids.

I don’t have a lot of friends, but the ones I have blow me away in their generosity and love.  Enjoying their company, watching them enjoy the company of my little family, makes for just about as perfect a birthday as one could want.

One thought on “Birthday

  1. Birthdays- A time for rememberance,reflection and hopes & dreams. A time to spend with family and friends. A time to be waited on and honored. A time to indulge yourself in cake and ice cream. A time to Love and to remember how much you are loveed and how Happy we all are to have you in our lives.

    So Happy that you were able to share your day with your little munchkins and sib and friend Dori and Ray.

    High Watch Harry

Leave a Reply

