Free Time

Saturday, 10 a.m.  Ray just left with all four kids in tow, to do errands, including a trip to the mall.  They could be gone for almost four hours!  Including lunch!  I can’t remember the last time I had an empty house to myself for more than 30 minutes.  Any longer than that, usually at least one child stays at home with me.  But not today!

I stayed behind to tackle a huge project — our bedroom closet, overflowing with kids’ artwork and other keepsakes.  Serious organization needed.

But a small part of me shudders with glee.  Maybe I’ll just read a book for three hours, work out, take a shower.  I don’t want to squander the first bit of free time I’ve had in months and months.  What to do first??

Okay, what I will do is the chore.  It’s not something easily done with the kids home to “help.”  If you were me, though, what would you do?

2 thoughts on “Free Time

  1. I would definitely go for the book…at least for ONE hour. Seriously, those hours you have to yourself are precious and should be used to revive you, to reengergize the person you need to be. It’s all well and good to have a chore done but not at the expense of no R&R. If you just do the chore, more work, while you’re alone..you’ll be exhausted. But if you take some time to read a book, to “calgon…take me away” to have a hot bath, a nap you revive yourself and those around you. Read my lips…just say enjoy a quiet hour. xo

  2. A wise man said”Put off until tomorrow, that which can be done another day & enjoy the peace and sernity of Today”. A book, a bath, your favorite somgs playing in the backgound, candels giving off scents of the woods or sea shore and quite. You will be re-energized to face all that life puts in your path.

    You should be your own first priority. Remember that you can’t give away what you don’t have. Next take time for yourself.

Leave a Reply

