Battle of Wills

After a week of rain, today’s heat and sunshine were a blessing.  Sadly, we did not get out to enjoy it.  First, we were stuck waiting for the delivery of a dresser.  Then we had a quick errand.  During those few hours all the kids were poorly behaved, so much so that we finally reached the “next time you’ll be in the house for the day!” threat.  I had to stick to my guns.  We stayed in all day, except to take out the trash and recycling.

So now it’s 5:15 p.m. and we are waiting for the pizza delivery.  I’ve been trying all day to get them to clean up their messes.  No one has been a good listener.  No one has behaved nicely to a sibling.  Markers were misused on furniture.  Things got broken.  Ellie had 47 screaming tantrums involving throwing things or hitting someone.  I was reduced to tears by dinnertime.

I’m trying hard not to yell, but these kids don’t seem to hear me, unless my sentence contains the words “chocolate” or “toy store”.   I try to be patient, understanding, calm, but nothing has worked for the past few days, building up to now.

At my wits’ end, I have threatened to remove all toys if they are not cleaned up.  So tonight I have to take a stand, should a stand be necessary.  I don’t know what else to do.  I guess they aren’t taking me seriously.

I feel like I’ve tried every trick I’ve ever heard or read about.  I need a rest to think up some new ones, or it will be a long weekend.

See, if ever you praised my parenting, think again.

One thought on “Battle of Wills

  1. Whats going on is called”Summer Cabin Fever”. 4 sibs together most of the time can cause all sorts of “me-isms”. Parenting is like being the CEO of a business. You have to control the situation all the time. The Company rules must be inforced or chaos will take over. Your heart will break but you’ll keep your sanity and after a few days of being in control the little darlings will realize that their behaviour has immediate consequences.

    This does not apply to Grandparents who are obligated to spoil their grandkids.

Leave a Reply

