Free Swim

Ray and I were supposed to go out to dinner with another couple tonight, but our babysitter bailed on us, and our backups are away.  I guess my list needs some work.

I was going to take the free time tonight to write about a few things that have been on my Mom mind.  Instead, Ray and I took the four kids to the Y for a very late evening free swim.  It was totally fun.  Seeing how far Mitzi and Cooper have come in their skills was a treat; watching Ellie delight in her new-found solo swimming was pure joy.  Joanna scares us a little — no fear, no skill.  She likes to jump in, claw her way to the surface and sputter, waiting to be rescued.

So bedtime didn’t come until 10 p.m., very late for our brood who are usually asleep by 7:30 at the latest, and we have a full weekend ahead.  But to start it on such a frivolous note!  A nice change of pace, especially for me, the routine/schedule queen.  (Yes, the house was tidy and dishes were done before we left.  I was frivolous, not crazy!)

Leave a Reply

