Date Night!

Last Saturday night Ray and I had a night out. This was the first time we’d been out together since last summer’s party in Dracut. Pretty pathetic! Sadly, it’s been a tight year financially, and dating never made the budget.

So it was especially fantastic to get out of the house, and the reason was even more so: a fundraiser to support the absolutely fabulous Puppet Showplace Theater in Brookline. We got all fancied up, and with friends had a pre-party dinner at Pomodoro, also in Brookline.

First, the food. Amazing! I had orrechiette with sausage and broccoli rabe in a tomato cream sauce. It was so wonderful I showed no self-control and ate it all. Very delicate of me. Having adult conversations, enjoying adult drinks, eating adult food — well, it was a singular experience I hope to encounter more often than once a year.

Then we walked to the Theater to have more pre-show drinks and delicious pastries provided by Montillio’s in Quincy. This bakery is famous for not only who it serves, but the quality of its goods. It’s one of the few things I miss about our tiny apartment — the proximity to Montillio’s!

The show itself was amazing. If you have thought that puppet shows are soley intended for children, you are quite mistaken. The group performing on Saturday night is called the Tanglewood Marionettes. I was especially curious, since I’ve never seen a professional marionette show and this is a group that performs regularly in Brewster, on Cape Cod, where we have enjoyed some summer vacations.

I’m no expert, but the show was spectacular. If you ever get a chance to see this group, take it. You won’t be disappointed!

We got home very late, but our babysitter was busy studying for final exams, so she didn’t mind. I sent her home with a fat check and a container of leftover pastries. The kids were asleep, the dishes were done, the house was tidy — amazing.

I hope to do it again soon, but if we have to have a single date night each year, well, this was a pretty good one to have!

2 thoughts on “Date Night!

  1. Your date sounds wonderful! I hope you don’t have to wait another year to go on one again.

    This year my husband and I became empty-nesters. Strange and wonderful all at once. We instituted date-days. One weekend day a month where we alternated planning an outing for the day (not just “today I plan that we watch football all day” or “today I plan that we sit around the house and read.”)

    You always have to have special time together, even when you’re the only ones in the house.

  2. Good for you guys. You deserve a night out each month. It doesn’t have to be expensive but just do it.

    Why don’t I get a “fat check” and food when I baby sit for you? Hmm.

    I guess you think our Christmas puppet show wasn’t spectactular? No it wasn’t but it was surely a lot of fun.

Leave a Reply

